Site.pro
  • Website Builder
    • Website Builder
    • Prices
    • Website Import
    • Online Stores
    • Plugins
    • Collaboration
    • Templates
    • Languages
    • Affiliate Program
    • Examples
    • AI Website Builder
    • For Design Studios
    • We Build for You
  • Domains
  • Email
  • Learn
    • Tutorials
    • Blog
    • FAQ
    • Growth Hacking
    • For Hostings
    • Domainity
    • For Education
  • For Resellers
    • Prices
    • White Label
    • Revenue Share
    • Panels
    • How it Works
    • Mass Import
    • Our Partners
    • Reselling Examples
    • Marketing Materials
    • Documentation
    • Free Websites
  • Website Builder
    • Website BuilderEverybody can easily create a website, landing page, or e-commerce store. Easy-to-use website builder.
    • PricesSite.pro Prices: Templates 200+, Websites, Basic Builder Functions, Online Stores, Get more website builder features.
    • Website ImportTransfer your existing website from anywhere to Site.pro website builder. Website import from different website builders.
    • Online StoresSell your goods or services anywhere on the website. The Easiest Way to Build an Online Store
    • PluginsMany functions and plugins depending on geographical preferences. Plugin description.
    • CollaborationCollaborative Website Builder, Create a website with teammates in real-time in one space, Real-Time Collaboration.
    • Templates
    • Languages
    • Affiliate Program
    • Examples
    • AI Website Builder
    • For Design Studios
    • We Build for You
  • Domains
  • Email
  • Learn
    • TutorialsVideos for Beginners. Download video tutorials for free New video tutorial.
    • BlogWebsite Builder Lifehacks: Shared hosting tips. Web Design, Marketing
    • FAQHelp center. Payment Issues. Basic Tutorial. Quick search. Have questions? Enter your question here.
    • Growth HackingBoost your sales. Strategy
    • For HostingsEducation. Generate more website builder sales
    • DomainityDomainity: Domain quantity per 1000 people
    • For EducationFree Website Builder for Online and Offline Classrooms. Collaborate with students in one space or separately.
  • For ResellersWhite Label
    • PricesStart reselling. Pay for live websites. Free Websites. Join reselling program.
    • White LabelThe most popular white label tool is ideal for reselling
    • Revenue ShareWebsite Builder: Provide free website builder and earn 50% commissions
    • PanelsOne product for all platforms. Download plugin for your panel
    • How it WorksCloud or On-Premises. Recommendations for Builder Server. Requirements for builder server (On-premises only) and published websites.
    • Marketing MaterialsVideo. Mockups. Website Blocks. Marketing Materials.
    • Mass Import
    • Our Partners
    • Reselling Examples
    • Documentation
    • Free Websites
  • Register

    Register

    (Buy Domain, Create email)
    (For Hosting Companies)
    By registering, you accept our Terms of Service
    Number of Customers: 1-100
    Number of Customers: 1-100
  • Log in

    Log in

    New user? Create account
    Forgot password?
  • $
  • English

Unit-Economics

When Numbers Do Matter

Free Full Growth Hacking Course
Blog: Growth Hacking

00:23 What is unit-economics?
00:51 CAC: definition and calculation
01:22 LTV: definition and calculation
01:51 Activation: CAC and LTV
02:30 Activation: analysis of cases
04:25 The importance of the Aha-moment

So, you have developed a product, you like it, you’ve launched it, the market seems to like it, but something doesn’t seem right. What’s the matter? The numbers don’t add up. The reason is that running a business is not about “likes” or “seems”, but about numbers.

What is Unit-Economics?

Unit-economics is the product account, an answer to a question of whether you are going to earn on your user (unit) or not. In order to understand that, you need to find out:

  • how much money you spend on acquiring the user;
  • how much money you have earned from this user.

Why Do You Need Unit-Economics?

If your CAC (Customer Acquisition Cost) is higher than LTV (Lifetime Value) or, in other words, if you spend more money on user acquisition than you earn from one, then scaling such a business isn’t such a good idea and, as a matter of fact, doesn’t make sense at all. Sooner or later, you will simply run out of money and your business will cease to exist.
To understand what CAC is, let's say you get 100 customers, they cost you €10 000, which means that each customer costs you €100. Thus, if you once again spend €10 000, you will once again get 100 paid customers. What about LTV? LTV is how much you get from the customer, i.e., if, for example, your customers pay you €50 and stay with you, let's say, for 10 months, it means your LTV is 500 months.
It’s exactly for this reason that unit-economics is calculated — to understand whether it’s possible to develop a business, whether it can or cannot be scaled through some kind of a growth channel, and whether we need to increase LTV or decrease CAC.

So, how to Calculate Unit-Economics?

In order to calculate unit-economics and understand your future ways of acting, you need to compare the cost of acquiring a customer or group of customers and the revenue you get from that customer or group of customers. If you know the mentioned figures, congratulations! — you just calculated your unit-economics. So, if your:

  • LTV is higher than CAC, then everything is fine, as you earn from customers more than you spend on attracting them;
  • LTV is lower than CAC, then you need to introduce changes, because you earn less from customers than you spend on attracting them.

What is Common Between CAC and LTV?

If you compare what CAC and LTV consist of and how they are build, you may notice that they have one common layer — that is activation. What is activation? Activation is one of the key layers of growth, because activation is exactly that main step when the user forms one’s opinion and attitude towards your product or service.

Activation makes CAC cheaper, because you do not attract customers who are not interested. If you "bought" 100 customers and only 50 went through activation, it means you actually interested only 50 real customers. But if you "bought" 100 customers and 75 went through activation, it means your CAC was lower, because you got more customers for the same amount of money. Of course, as you have more customers, your revenue increases.

Summing Up

You may like what you are doing, you may like how your products looks/smells/tastes like, you may be the biggest fan of your product, but if everything is only about 'you', then you're in trouble. You, first of all, should think about your potential or existing customers, take into account their preferences, likes and wants, because they are the ones who increase your numbers. And numbers do matter! If your customers like what they see/smell/taste, they get interested and become activated, buy your product and make LTV grow, which means they make you revenue grow and give you motivation for further expansion.

Previous
Statistical Significance (Evan Miller)
Statistical Significance (Evan Miller)
Next
AAARRR Funnel
AAARRR Funnel
© Site.pro 2011. Website Builder. United States.
Contact SalesTerms of Service